As most people have learned through my Facebook page I am determined to learn how to sew.  I looked everywhere to take a beginner’s sewing class that was close to where I live.  I lucked out and found a sewing class at Castle’s Sewing Centre in Surrey, BC.  I was a little intimidated at first since it was learning how to sew a pair of pants using a commercial pattern since I have never sewed before or even looked at a sewing pattern.  YES, I took sewing in grade 8 but did not pay attention and my mother ended up making my apron for me.  So who knew that 25 years later I wanted to learn how to sew.

I took the class and the first thing all the students said to me was learning to sew a pair of pants with a zipper, a button, and  a waistband was quite ambitious for someone who have never sewed and that I really should start off making something simpler like an apron.  Thanks for the confidence everyone.  So I set my sights a little lower and thought what I really wanted to get out of the class was the basics of sewing and what type of sewing machine I should buy.  Realistically deep down I knew I was not going to have a finished pair of pants that I made myself in 4 – 3.5 classes.

By the third class I picked out the sewing machine I wanted which was a small fortune , but I did get a free Serger.  Although, I had no idea what the differences are between a sewing machine and a Serger.  I did find that I was not quite ready for the classes and that I would have to do some practice on my own.  So I ordered a few sewing books from Amazon.ca:  The Sewing Book by Alison Smith, Stitch by Stitch by Deborah Moebes, and the Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp.  I have to say I just finished reading from front to back the Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp and most of my owner’s manual for my sewing machine and all I can say is that I should have done this years ago.  After reading the beginner’s sewing book and my owner’s manual I can’t believe what my new sewing machine is capable of doing.  I can’t wait to start sewing.  I think my first project will be a very simple envelope pillow case.  I can’t wait to learn how to sew and alter clothes.  But first I must practice because practice makes perfect.

I am also collecting buttons so if anyone has buttons lying around they are not using I would love to take them off you hands.

